

MAINE JUVENILE JUSTICE ADVISORY GROUP

The Maine Juvenile Justice Advisory Group (JJAG) is the State Advisory Group (SAG) established under the federal Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974 (JJDPA), which was most recently reauthorized in 2018 and has been codified in Maine law (Title 34-A M.R.S. §1209). SAGs are comprised of volunteer members (between 15 and 33 total) appointed by the Governor/Chief Executive in each U.S. jurisdiction. Eligible members are determined by the federal statute and must include certain identified stakeholders who have training, experience, or special knowledge concerning the prevention and treatment of juvenile delinquency, the administration of juvenile justice, or the reduction of juvenile delinquency.

Membership List

Jill Ward, Director, Center for Youth Policy & Law, Maine Law (Chair)

Ned Chester, Esq., Juvenile Defense Attorney, Miller & Phalon (Vice Chair)

Megan Anderson, Youth Member

Renee Bernard, School Resource Officer, Lisbon Community School

Chris Bicknell, Executive Director, New Beginnings

Sarah Churchill, Juvenile Court Judge

Bishop Steve Coleman, Pastor, Williams Temple Church

Sienna Dana, Youth Member

LaMichael Gildersleeve, Regional Program Director (Lewiston/Auburn), Youth-Led Justice

Jacinda Goodwin, Program Specialist, Education for Homeless Children and Youth

Brody J. Haverly-Johndro, Esq., Youth Member

*Lt. Patrick Hood, Maine State Police

Morgan Hynd, Director, The Bingham Program

Abeir Ibrahim, CFO, Cross Cultural Community Services

*Dr. Todd Landry, Director, Office of Child and Family Services, Maine DHHS

Tessa Mosher, Director, Victim Services, Maine DOC

*Page Nichols, Chief Innovation Officer, Office of Innovation, Maine DOE

Christopher Northrop, Esq., Managing Director, Cumberland Legal Aid Clinic, Maine Law Ladislas Nzeyimana, Youth Member

Jay Philbrick, Youth Member

Regina Phillips, Co-Founder, Cross Cultural Community Services

Tanya Pierson, Esq., Assistant District Attorney, York County District Attorney's Office

Bonnie Porta, Community Member

Kelly Rackler, Juvenile Community Corrections Officer, Region 3, Maine DOC

Atlee Reilly, Esq., Legal Director, Disability Rights Maine

Elizabeth Ward Saxl, Executive Director, Maine Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Jonathan Shapiro, Director, Maine School Safety Center, Maine DOE

Zubeyda Shute, Youth Member

Christine Thibeault, Esq., Associate Commissioner of Juvenile Services, Maine DOC (* denotes agency commissioner's designee)

Staff: Linda Barry Potter, JJ Specialist & Compliance Monitor Anwar Whiting, RE/D Coordinator